Troop 4 Celebrates 100 Years

Scouts BSA Troop 4, sponsored by First Presbyterian Church, will celebrate its 100th anniversary with a banquet at Ogden’s Union Station on Saturday, April 27.  Current Scouts, alumni, and parents are invited to attend the banquet.

Troop 4, led by Scoutmaster John Corbett, is the oldest continually operating Scouts BSA troop in Ogden, Utah. In the troop’s 100-year history, 134 young men, have earned the Eagle Scout Award, the highest rank in Scouting.  The practice of troops in 1919 was to select a President’s name – Troop 4 became known as Roosevelt 4, after President Teddy Roosevelt.  The troop’s signature black neckerchief was selected to honor Roosevelt that died earlier that same year. 

Dr. Steve Ericson, banquet organizer and committee member in Troop 4 said, “The boys in these patrols turn out to be some of the most loyal people I’ve ever come across in life.  They’re like a band of brothers.”

Before and after the 100thanniversary banquet, Troop 4 alumni and their guests will enjoy displays of old photographs, and various Scouting memorabilia.  Proclamations from Governor Gary Herbert and Ogden’s Mayor Mike Caldwell will be presented to Troop 4.  Each attendee will receive a patch commemorating Troop 4’s centennial celebration.  Participants will also be able to participate in a silent auction.

Tickets for Troop 4’s anniversary banquet can be found at online at